Board of Trustees Nominating Committee January 30, 2018 2:30 p.m. Chancellor's Board Room Minutes

Members Present:

Susan Safran, Chair Ward Russell Betsy Oakley David Sprinkle

Members Not Present: Brad Hayes

Others Present: Chancellor Frank Gilliam, Chief of Staff Waiyi Tse, and Assistant Secretary to the Board Kelly Harris.

Proceedings:

Chair Safran called the meeting to order at 2:30 pm and reminded members of the Conflict of Interest (COI) statement from the State Government Ethics Act and their duty to avoid COI and appearances thereof. None were identified.

Roll Call was read and a quorum was confirmed.

Discussion Items

NOM – 1 Appointments to the Board of Trustees

Chair Safran noted the potential for a vacancy on the Board in light of Trustee Kathy Manning's candidacy for US Congress. In addition, at least two trustees will rotate off the Board as of June 30, 2019. As such, it is appropriate for the Committee to begin identifying possible nominees.

The Committee engaged in a general discussion regarding procedure for submission of names to the Governor, Board of Governors, and Legislature.

The Committee agreed that developing a timeline for nominations would be prudent, as would extending beyond the Greensboro and North Carolina parameters in terms of board membership.

Committee members made multiple suggestions of potential nominees given factors such as connections to/affiliations with UNCG, skills and expertise, philanthropic involvement, and areas of interest.

The Committee agreed that maintaining diversity on the board was a priority.

Following discussion, it was agreed that Chair Safran would contact UNCG alumni Linda Sloan and Paul Rand to discuss their potential interest in joining the Board.

NOM – 2 Slate of Officers for 2018-19

Chair Safran noted that current Board Chair Brad Hayes has agreed to serve in that role again for 2018-19. As such, the Committee is tasked with identifying a Vice Chair, Secretary, and two Executive Committee members for the slate of nominees.

Following discussion, it was determined that the proposed slate would consist of the following: Betsy Oakley as Vice Chair; Mona Edwards as Secretary, and Ward Russell and Dean Priddy as remaining Executive Committee members. Chair Safran will contact Mona Edwards and Dean Priddy about their willingness to serve in those capacities.

When the proposed slate has been finalized, the Committee will report the slate to the full board at the May 3, 2018 meeting and the slate can be voted on at the first meeting of the Board held after June 30, 2018. A special-called teleconference will be scheduled for this purpose.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:45 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Keezita

Kelly Harris Assistant Secretary to the Board