Association of Public & Land-grant Universities Transformation Clusters Initiative

Public university leaders have spent years creating and testing solutions to help students succeed in college, complete their degrees, and be well-prepared for the workforce. These efforts have achieved significant success at individual institutions, but have not been fully brought to scale across the public higher education sector.

APLU created a new national Center for Public University Transformation (CPUT) to grow, innovate, and sustain effective solutions that are scalable across the diverse set of institutions comprising the public university sector.

To achieve this vision, APLU's Center will convene 100 change-ready universities within 10 "transformation clusters" – reaching more than two million undergraduate students nationwide. Each cluster will determine how to work together to refine, implement, and scale innovative practices that address shared challenges among the participating institutions. Clusters may, for example, choose to work on adaptive courseware, proactive advising, or completion-focused financial aid approaches that are unique or appropriate for the students attending institutions in the cluster.

Public research universities share a commitment to providing students from all backgrounds an affordable, high-quality education that aligns with workforce needs. APLU will work with the institutions in the transformation clusters to facilitate a collaborative community of learning so the entire public higher education community can identify and adopt evidence-based practices that drive progress toward equity and college completion.

List of University Members

- 1. Clemson University
- 2. Florida State University
- 3. East Carolina University
- 4. North Carolina A&T State University
- 5. North Carolina State University
- 6. South Carolina State University
- 7. University of North Carolina at Charlotte
- 8. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
- 9. University of North Carolina-Wilmington
- 10. University of North Carolina System
- 11. Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
- 12. Virginia State University