

Meeting of the Full Board October 12, 2023

Discussion Item - Closed Session

- BOT 5 Recommendations for Approval of Distinguished Service Awards Nominees
 - 5.1 Charles Duncan McIver Medal Nomination Packet (Closed)
 - 5.2 Adelaide F. Holderness/ H. Michael Weaver Award Nomination Packet (Closed)

Background Information

Vice Chancellor Beth Fischer will be joined by Trustees Benjamin and Douglas to present the University Advancement Committee's recommended nominees for the Charles Duncan McIver Medal and the Adelaide F. Holderness/H. Michael Weaver Award.

See Distinguished Service Awards guidelines and related information below.



Distinguished Service Awards

Award Guidelines:

- Nominations must be thoroughly documented by submitting the online form. Nominations may include letters of recommendation and supplemental materials.
- No more than one McIver Award and one Holderness/Weaver Award is presented in one year, and the awards are not required to be presented in any given year.
- Nominations are valid for one awards cycle. If the Awards Committee wishes to reconsider a nominee for longer than one awards cycle, the nominator will be notified by the Vice Chancellor for University Advancement.
- The Awards Committee has the authority to move candidates between categories if they feel the applicant more closely aligns with the other award.

The following restrictions apply to all nominees:

- A nominee cannot have been a University student within the past five (5) years;
- A nominee cannot have been a University employee within the past five (5) years;
- A nominee cannot be a current member of the University Board of Trustees, or have been a member of the Board of Trustees within the past three (3) years;
- A nominee cannot currently hold public office nor be a candidate for public office; and
- A nominee cannot be receiving any monetary compensation from the University or its affiliates during the nomination process.

2024 Distinguished Awards timeline:

- **August 14, 2023**: The Office of University Advancement will issue a public call for nominations through email.
- Around Labor Day: The Office of University Advancement will remind the public about the call for nominations.
- **September 14**: Nominations must be received in the Office of University Advancement by end of day.
- **After September 15**: Nominations shared with the Awards Committee, and convenes the awards committee where the candidates are discussed and recommendations are made.
- October 10 and October 12: The Awards Committee shares its recommendations to the Board of Trustees for their consideration and approval.

- End of Calendar Year: No later than end of calendar year, the designated committee member or Vice Chancellor for Advancement notifies the awards recipients.

 • Awards to be presented at the Distinguished Service Awards event in the spring.

Charles Duncan McIver Award:

Established in April 1983, the Charles Duncan McIver Award recognizes North Carolinians who have rendered unusually distinguished public service to the state or beyond. This award, in the form of a medal bearing the likeness of Charles Duncan McIver, will be known as the "McIver Medal" in honor of the University's founder.

McIver Medal recipients:

- 2020 Kay Hagan, U.S. Senator (awarded posthumously)
- 2018 Luther H. Hodges, Jr., Philanthropic Leader and retired banker
- 2017 Joseph M. Bryan, Jr., Philanthropist and Community Leader
- 2016 Tom Ross, Former UNC System president
- 2015 Fred Chappell, Poet Laureate of North Carolina
- 2014 Kathy E. Manning, community advocate
- 2013 Maggie Jeffus, '70 MEd, N.C. Representative
- 2012 Martha Hendrix Kaley '80 MEd
- 2011 Sue Woodall Cole, Business Leader
- 2010 Stanley & Doris Tanger, Philanthropic Leaders
- 2009 Ann Goodnight, Philanthropic and Volunteer Leader
- 2007 James B. Hunt, Governor, North Carolina
- 2006 Hugh M. Morton, Conservationist and Preservationist
- 2005 E. S. "Jim" Melvin, President, The Bryan Foundation
- 2004 Don Cameron, President, Guilford Technical Community College
- 2002 Dennis Barry, President & CEO, Moses Cone Medical System
- 2001 Charles Hamner, President & CEO, North Carolina Biotechnology Center
- 2000 Thomas W. Lambeth, Executive Director, Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation
- 1999 Gerhardt Zimmerman, Maestro, North Carolina Symphony
- 1998 John Hope Franklin, Professor, Duke University
- 1997 Terry Sanford, Governor and Senator, North Carolina
- 1996 Barton A. Parks, Professor of Justice and Policy, Guilford College
- 1995 C. Stewart Rogers, Healthserve Medical Center; Hospice and Palliative Care of Greensboro
- 1994 Jack F. Matlock, Jr., Ambassador, US Foreign Service
- 1992 William C. Friday, President, The University of North Carolina System
- 1991 L. Richardson Preyer, Congressman, United States Congress
- 1990 Robert Byrd Jordan III, Lieutenant Governor, North Carolina
- 1989 Bland W. Worley, Board Chairman, Barclays American Corporation
- 1988 Martha K. Sharpless, Chief of Pediatric Teaching Service, Moses Cone Hospital
- 1987 Archie K. Davis, Board Chairman, Wachovia Corporation
- 1986 Henry E. Frye, Chief Justice, North Carolina Supreme Court
- 1985 Susie Marshall Sharpe, Chief Justice, North Carolina Supreme Court

Holderness/Weaver Award:

The Holderness/Weaver Award is for recognition of North Carolinians who have rendered unusually distinguished public service to Greensboro or the Triad.

Holderness/Weaver Award recipients:

- 2023 Dabney H. Sanders and H. Walker Sanders, Community Leaders and Volunteers
- 2022 Margaret Bourdeaux Arbuckle '74 MEd, '84 PhD, Education Advocate, Community Volunteer
- 2020 Dr. Antonia Monk Richburg '87, '00 MPA, VP & Senior Program Officer for Cone Health Foundation
- 2018 Sarah Cole Jordan '56, Community Leader, Volunteer, Child Advocate
- 2017 Robert E. (Bobby) Long, Jr., Founder at Long, Miller and Associates, Volunteer Leader
- 2016 Shirley Frye, Educator and Community Volunteer
- 2015 Elizabeth Buford '68
- 2014 Rev. Mike Aiken, Executive Director of Greensboro Urban Ministry
- 2013 Richard Whittington and Preston Lane, Co-Founders of Triad Stage
- 2012 Alan W. '72 MEd and Sally Schindel Cone '72 MEd
- 2011 Dot Kendall Kearns, Public Education Advocate
- 2010 T. Clyde & Dorothy B. Collins '54, Philanthropic & Volunteer Leaders
- 2009 Florence Gatten, Former Greensboro City Council Member and Community Volunteer
- 2007 Bill Black, Community Volunteer
- 2006 Carol J. Mattocks '62, Community Leader, Volunteer, and Child Advocate
- 2005 Shirley Spears, Philanthropic Leader
- 2004 Barbara and Herman Cone, Philanthropic Leaders
- 2002 Cynthia Doyle, Community Leader & Volunteer; Community Foundation of Greensboro; The Greensboro Children's Museum
- 2001 Phillip Kirk, President, North Carolina Citizens for Business & Industry
- 2000 Ashley Ormond Thrift, Attorney, North Carolina Partnership for Children (Smart Start)
- 1999 Betty Rae McCain, Secretary, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources